After Robert Mugabe, Here Is The List Of African Presidents And Leaders Who Have Been In Power For Far Too Long


Even with all the excitement about Robert Mugabe’s resignation there is still a long list of African presidents and non-royal national leaders who don’t intend to leave office any time soon. Interestingly some of these leaders have served for over three decades but are still motivated enough to carry on despite the fact that many think they are clouding Africa’s future. Currently Africa has over 6 leaders who have served their countries for over three decades.

Image Name Country Office Tenure began on Length of tenure
Paul Biya  Cameroon Prime Minister, then President 30-Jun-75 42 years
Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo  Equatorial Guinea President 03-Aug-79 38 years
Denis Sassou Nguesso  Republic of the Congo President 8 February 1979 – 31 August 1992 (1st time) 33 years
Yoweri Museveni  Uganda President 26-Jan-86 31 years
Omar al-Bashir  Sudan President 30-Jun-89 28 years
Idriss Déby  Chad President 02-Dec-90 26 years
Isaias Afwerki  Eritrea President 27-Apr-91 26 years
Paul Kagame  Rwanda Vice-President, then President 19-Jul-94 26 years
Abdelaziz Bouteflika  Algeria President 27-Apr-99 18 years
Ismaïl Omar Guelleh  Djibouti President 08-May-99 18 years
Hage Geingob  Namibia Prime Minister, then President 21 March 1990 – 28 August 2002 (1st time) 17 years
Joseph Kabila  Democratic Republic of the Congo President 17-Jan-01 16 years
Barnabas Sibusiso Dlamini  Swaziland Prime Minister 26 July 1996 – 29 September 2003 (1st time) 16 years
Faure Gnassingbé  Togo President 5 February 2005 – 25 February 2005 (1st time) 12 years
Salva Kiir Mayardit  South Sudan President 30-Jul-05 12 years
Pierre Nkurunziza  Burundi President 26-Aug-05 12 years
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf  Liberia President 16-Jan-06 11 years
Ahmed Ouyahia  Algeria Prime Minister 31 December 1995 – 15 December 1998 (1st time) 10 years
Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta  Mali Prime Minister, then President 4 February 1994 – 15 February 2000 (1st time) 10 years
Ernest Bai Koroma  Sierra Leone President 17-Sep-07 10 years
Alassane Ouattara  Côte d’Ivoire Prime Minister, then President 7 November 1990 – 9 December 1993 (1st time) 10 years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here